FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

New and feeling silly in Comparison.

Poodlejewel
Community Member

I am new to panic attacks. After lots of tests and reading Google etc it seems mine are less traumatic and definitely less frequently than other peoples but none the less just as scarey. My main question is that I seem to have them AND always in my sleep but when life is going good. No attacks for 6 months? ?? Take 3 weeks annual leave so relaxed then boom 3am I wake with the biggest I've ever had? ??

3 Replies 3

Starwolf
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Poodlejewel and welcome to the forums.

I quite agree with you... anxiety symptoms are a nuisance and often scary. They vary in intensity and from one person to the next. They are often intensified by our negative thoughts and moods. They can also happen regardless of our state of mind and often take us by surprise... and ruin an otherwise relaxed moment.

The lifestyle change caused by being on leave could also have triggered it.

If you find them too disruptive or frightening, why not have a talk with your GP ? This would reassure you that what you are experiencing is due to anxiety and nothing else.

I wish you a peaceful, relaxing long week-end.

White_Rose
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Dear Poodlejewel

Hello and welcome. I agree, panic attacks are always horrible and always at the wrong moment, though I'm not sure there is a right moment. Your attacks happen at night I see. Most of mine did also though this did not mean nothing happened during the day.