FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I need to vent

cyanideapple
Community Member

hello all, this is my first time posting here. I'll try to keep this short and to the point, although I don't really know where to begin.

I've been going through a really difficult time lately and it's becoming really overwhelming for me. My relationship with my family is really bad, particularly with my mother. She is always looking for a reason to argue with me and demands so much of me. For as long as I can remember she's always been a terrible parent.

As of lately my relationship with her has become much worse. She constantly belittles me, and compares me to my sisters in law. She makes me feel absolutely worthless, to the point that I feel guilty for even existing.

I'm starting to find it very difficult to get out of bed in the mornings, and I no longer find pleasure in activities that I normally enjoy. I'm beginning to spend much of my time between work hours playing video games and avoiding having any sort of social life. I feel like I cant talk to my friends about it because they either won't understand me, or I'm worried that they'll begin to think differently about me.

Unfortunately I'm stuck living with her and my eldest brother for the time being, so I feel like I have no escape from this madness. I'm able to hide my emotions quite well, so none of my friends or colleagues suspect anything is wrong with me. I just don't know what to do, and I don't know how much longer I can continue like this before I reach my breaking point.

I'm sorry if this all sounds like rambling, but I just need to vent somehow!

9 Replies 9

PamelaR
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

You're not rambling at all Cyanideapple.

You know venting is good sometimes. It helps to get out those pent up emotions and feelings that make us feel awful.