FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

I'm new to recovery — what is this rage I'm experiencing?

girlonsafari
Community Member

Hello community!

I recently spent 3 weeks in treatment for depression, anxiety and disordered eating and am now back home and am 'in recovery'. I have had a few relapses since being home (mostly around eating/food) and am generally finding recovery pretty hard. Every day is a struggle and while there are moments of joy, most days I feel sad and lonely. Some days I also feel hopeless. But the thing that has surprised me most is that I feel so much RAGE. Has anyone else experienced this? I have always been "in touch with my anger" but this rage is a whole new thing. I feel so angry so much of the time. I don't know where it is coming from or what I need to do with it.

Who else experiences this? What do you do about it?

Peace out x

11 Replies 11

quirkywords
Community Champion
Community Champion

Girlonsafari

Welcome to the forum.
Thanks for sharing your experience.

For many recovery is a long journey not a destination. You may experience many ups and downs and many mood swings.
I find I can be impatient and angry about little things but for mr it dies nt laser long.

How long do your rages last for.? Do you feel you can control yiur rages at all.

Do you rage at others or yourself.?
Thanks again for your post.

I'm definitely getting angry at little things as well as big things. But I just feel angry about so many things — especially things that wouldn't have normally made me angry. I'm like a tinder box.

Sometimes when I lose my temper it's at myself, but it can also be at my partner, my work colleagues, friends. I'm not usually angry for long (not more than a day) but sometimes it can be a few hours.