FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

How do I help other if I can’t help myself?

JellyBeanTickTock
Community Member

Hi, I’m currently new to Beyond Blue so I’m probs doing this wrong but oh well.

I was diagnosed with severe depression earlier this year, although my therapist/doctor believes I’ve had it for years now. Anyways, my mother has severe PTSD, and I can’t help her without becoming severely depressed myself. My dad is stuck over seas after flying for a work meeting, and can’t come home due to restrictions. My older brother is studying for his ATAR all the time, and my little brother is very young, and unable to understand. At the moment, I’m charge of pretty much everything, and it isn’t helping my condition.

I have depression after 4 years of bullying, plus suffering from things like racism at school, and now that I’m Identifying as Pan, most of my old friends think I’m a walking sin of God and my local church doesn’t even let me in.

What do I do? How do I help my family, while taking care of myself too? How do I stop all of the negative thoughts?

2 Replies 2

Sophie_M
Hey JellyBeanTickTock,