FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Hope

MJC7791
Community Member

Hi all,

Just joined today and its great to feel not so alone with everyone sharing and caring about their hurdles. Generally, my mental health has been pretty good, in the past there has been the black dog that comes barking occasionally, touch wood, he's in the pound, but recently its been anxiety and panic attacks.

After a long unemployment gap, due to a back injury, I recently started work in the corporate sales world, something I've never done before.

The brochure was glossy and colourful, but soon sinking into the role, it began to take its toll. Feeling pressured from targets, compliances, and the all the other naff, I started feeling the strangle of the unseen fog. Head spins, heart racing, little sleep, and when I did, I'd wake up thinking about it. All the usual symptoms. Sometimes to the point of having to pull over on the drive in to try gather myself together.

Deciding that the best source of action was to cut the head off the corporate beast and quit, I was shocked to find my parents negative reaction. Perhaps this is a 'boomer' thing, or something that other people have been subjected to?

After trying to be open and tell them of my hurdles in a mini breakdown, the response was 'such is life'. This hurt. Don't get me wrong, they've been fantastic throughout my life, just the time I felt I needed them more than ever, is the time they seem to be furtherest away.

I've decided now to look for something a lot closer to home, and something I will actually enjoy. I know all jobs have certain levels of stress, but not to the point of it effecting your mental and physical health.

Take care all

2 Replies 2

Sophia16
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hey,