FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Hi from a newbie

Jellybabies
Community Member

Hi everyone, 

this is my first time in here, I'm not really sure what to say, I guess a little about myself would be a good place to start, I am  37, a mum to 4, a wife and I don't work, I've struggled with anxiety for what feels like my entire life, and I am feeling like I'm at the end of my rope, it feels like there is no light and I'm drowning, I've never asked for help, I've always felt so scared and uncomfortable about the way I've felt, that I usually just suffer in silence, I guess that's how I've ended up in here, I'm at the point where I feel like I need help, I don't know what kind, or where to even start looking so I'm easing my way in I suppose.

thankyou 😄

3 Replies 3

Zeal
Community Member

Hi Jelly babies,

Welcome to the forum, and thanks for your message 🙂

Being a Mum of four must keep you busy and active!

The best place to start is to make an appointment with your GP. Explain how you've been feeling and what's bothering you. They can help refer you to a counsellor or psychologist. If you feel like talking to someone spontaneously and in the moment first, give beyond blue a call on 1300 22 4636.

Feel free to repost! You are more than welcome here 🙂

Best wishes,

SM

Cherpieus
Community Member

Hi Jellybabies,

It must be so hard dealing with anxiety and looking after 4 kids. Getting any time to yourself must be nearly impossible!

Let me assure you - you are not a failure as a person or mother by asking for help.  As well as seeing your GP do you have a trusted girlfriend you can talk to?  

Breathing exercises are a good place to start in treatment before you get to see a counsellor. There are plenty you can search up online.

Keep posting how you're going.

Cherpieus

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni