FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Feeling Alone

Gracious Gal
Community Member
Hi, I'm a newbie here. I'm struggling with anxiety which includes social anxiety. Have always had difficulty making friends, so thought I could connect with other people that can relate to that. Often feel like I don't fit in and I'm looking to change that. I also have work related stress and anxiety and feel like I'm in a job that doesn't suit "the real me". Hoping to chat with others that may be experiencing the same thing.
14 Replies 14

Sea_Turtle
Community Member

Hi Gracious Gal

I have had undiagnosed OCD growing up. I was awkward, and always hyper vigilant. Got diagnosed at 17 and then went through a couple other diagnosis and a horrible few years. I’ve never managed to make any proper friends. Completely understand feeling alone.

work wise I’m studying because I want to do something that is helpful and something I’m passionate about.

Sending support

Hi Sea Turtle

Thanks for the welcome. It's nice to connect with someone that understands me.

I've had a few friends in the past through school. But that was a while ago now. The few friends I did have, I felt like they didn't get the real me and I was always trying to be something I wasn't to fit in.

Work wise I was in a job for almost 18 years. Towards the end the environment got so toxic though I decided to leave. Since November last year I have had 3 different jobs all of which made me anxious enough to leave and apply for other jobs. I have the qualifications to do the job but feel again it's not the real me.

Glad to hear you're studying something that is useful and something you're passionate about. Keep it up.

Sending my support to you as well

Hey Gracious Gal

I can’t imagine a toxic work environment helping anything. Sorry about that.