FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Fear of driving

ManyApricot
Community Member

Hi!

So I'm a learner driver, and currently I have 3 hours and 45 minutes in my log book.... over the course of about 10 months. I started out driving being really optimistic, but on my first drive with my dad, I broke down crying after pulling out on an intersection without looking. I knew it was going to be difficult, but as soon as I get in the car, I have this shaky feeling and I start getting adrenaline and all that. I know how to drive, and I'm not that bad at it, considering I've only had 3h 45m. I really don't want to blame my dad, but he has been driving since he was 6 years old and doesn't understand the fear that I have. He doesn't understand when I tell him to only take us on the back roads. Instead, he took me to the middle of town. And he also yells at me while I'm driving which just makes me feel anxious and overwhelmed. I keep thinking that maybe if I keep doing it, I'll get better, but it just seems to get worse and worse. My friends and family think I'm just being a drama queen. Even thinking about driving makes me feel anxious. I really want to get my P's, but I just can't stomach the idea of having to drive 120 hours. Anything I can do to help this anxiousness?

2 Replies 2

PamelaR
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi ManyApricot and welcome to Beyond Blue

Oh, learning to drive is hard. I understand your anxiety, especially when you get yelled at. Doesn't help does it?

There are many things to do for anxiety. I'm just wondering if you have browsed of our forums? Under the Mental Health Conditions category, there is the Anxiety forum where a thread Self Help Tips for Managing Anxiety can be found if your are interested. This might be a good starting point.