FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Don’t know how to ask for help with anxiety

Sezi
Community Member
Hi, I’m new to bb. I struggle with anxiety at times, not everyday. I find it difficult to reach out for help/support as I am usually the support person. I work in healthcare and feel that I’m letting people down/being judged bc I should be able to cope with stressors and anxiety. Just writing this is a huge step for me. Not really coming to terms with it. I feel like I need to be the “strong “ one. I hide it and put on a facade
6 Replies 6

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, welcome Sezi

So, you are working in the health field and occasionally you are becoming anxious to the point whereby you are reaching out. Can I ask you what the triggers are if you know them, any topics? like finances, relationships or work oriented?

On a basic front there are self help measures you can do and although helpful they pale into less significance than therapy, I think you know that anyway.

Sometimes we get to a stage in life when we need to get our house in order. Meaning have a cleanout so we can kick start our lives with new vigor. This can entail -

• budgeting and planning for less financial stress
  • Revisiting relationships those toxic that have brought you down especially since childhood
  • Career change or workplace change.
  • A holiday
  • Reconnecting to earth eg camping even overnight
  • Relaxation

I've selected a few threads you can read. Just read the first post of each.

https://www.beyondblue.org.au/get-support/online-forums/anxiety/anxiety-how-l-eliminated-it

https://www.beyondblue.org.au/get-support/online-forums/anxiety/seeking-the-origin-of-anxiety-

https://www.beyondblue.org.au/get-support/online-forums/staying-well/triggers-that-down-you-triggers-that-lift-you