FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Anxiety Hell

Jagz
Community Member

Hi,

I have never done this before but am in the midst of an anxiety attack and it’s too early to call my psychologist.
I feel that getting this out there helps and knowing I am in good company. I find anxiety such a lonely place to be...especially when my rock, my husband, was admitted into hospital yesterday and I can’t visit him due to covid. Logically I know he is in the best place but all those anxiety symptoms don’t care...can’t eat, on edge, the all consuming fear, crying as if I am mourning. How do I shut down my mind?

5 Replies 5

sbella02
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hey Jagz,

Thank you for posting on our forums, welcome to the community.

Feelings of anxiousness can be very isolating and lonely, I understand. Is there any way you video chat, or even just a regular call, with your husband? If this is a possibility, you may find that this would put your mind more at ease.

One thing that generally calms me down in the event of a panic attack is finding something in the room to focus on, and taking deep breaths. In terms of calming feelings of anxiety in general, activities such as meditation or just engaging in something distracting like a hobby tend to work for me.

This may be something to speak with your psychologist about, if you feel comfortable. You could also have a chat to a therapist, counsellor, or your GP if you feel like you need professional advice from somebody else.

If you'd like to have more of a chat to somebody about your feelings, we're always here for you, as well as our friends over at Lifeline on 13 11 14, the Suicide Callback Service on 1300 659 467 and Griefline on 1300 845 745.

All the best, and please continue to chat with us if you need. SB

Mark Z.
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi Jagz,