FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Irritable & angry on meds

Lilly18
Community Member
Hi
Im new to this and hope I have posted this in the right place.
Just feeling a bit desperate to hear if anyone has had an experience like mine. Not sure why I'm feeling like this.
I have been on an ssri for nearly 13 weeks and for the first 8-9 weeks it was ok but then I had a day where I couldnt stop thinking how messed up iam in the head. It was freaking me out and i couldnt get it out of my head. Almost felt like i should be in a mental ward.
Since that day iv become extreemly irritable and angry getting worse each week. Around the same time i had that bad day, I also started getting diarrhea (sorry to much info!) And still have it weeks later.
I keep in touch with my gp and have had my first psychologist appointment but I still feel confused and a bit lost. I dont feel its normal to be getting irritated and angry on medication, has anyone else? Can meds cause/trigger bipolar?
Lots of people do have success on it but just not in my case.
6 Replies 6

james1
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi Lilly18,

Welcome to the forums. Yes, you've posted in a good place for this.

I am sorry to hear you are feeling very irritable and angry, and getting worse. SSRI's are known to have quite a few side effects and different SSRIs affect people differently. I have not heard of medications causing bipolar, but it can cause bipolar-like symptoms and worsen depression temporarily (mood swings, irritability, increased suicidal thoughts).

Have you been able to go back to your doctor to discuss your recent symptoms? They are the best people to talk to when it comes to medication, and can give you a different one to try which you may react better to.