FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Supporting my partner

JJJFL
Community Member
Hi everyone I'm relatively new to supporting my partner they where diagnosed recently although I personally believe it has been a factor for a while now and I am helping the best I can I am currently working full time and my partner is going through a rough stage at the moment and it's a battle within myself to go to work when I feel as though I should be at home helping as much as I can, any and all advice would be welcome as to what you guys think I should do it would be really appreciated
2 Replies 2

Bethie
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi

Welcome to BB. I can only tell you from my own experience as a carer to my husband. He has retrograde amnesia and chronic PTSD. I gave up working full time to care for him because i was just to worried and stressed to be away such long periods each day. I changed companies and now only work a few days a month on call.

It is not easy being a carer but in my heart i wanted the best care for my husband and that is me

Guest8901
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hello and welcome to the Forums JJJFL.

I was drawn to your post because I too am a carer for my husband. Although not specifically for his MH, it is more for his physical health. It's me who has the MH issues. I used to work full time, but felt I needed to reduce my work hours early last year in order to better care for my husband needss. He is suffering from a terminal illness. So although our specific circumstances are different, the emotions, feelings of helplessness, and our desire to do what's best for our partner is very much the same.