FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

No Space

space2talk
Community Member

I'm really new to this. I've been seeing this person for 8 months, and he only had 2 good months, and has been pretty overwhelmed with work (and then life) since. 

How do you deal with not being able to share what is going on in your life? My partner is so overwhelmed or sad, and he shuts down... either building toy models or sleeping. When he comes up for air - once a week/every two weeks - it's only to talk about his own niche interests. Everything else is "too much."

When I talk about my life - work, decisions, university (mature learner) - he shuts down. He couldn't tell me who I spend time with, the name of the school I started working at 3 months ago, or which city I am working in. When I ask him about what is going on for him, he shuts down... and despite how much I support him, he's often snappy at me.

Our relationship is kind of revolving around how much juice he has, which revolves around his work satisfaction. How do you cope? 

2 Replies 2

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi, welcome

Sorry to hear that, after less than a year have you reconsidered this relationship?  Let's talk about his activities.

My last partner had a hard time with my passion- model airplanes at the time. I didnt know I had mania though and stayed up till 2am in the morning building them, then up at 5am to go to work. The difference is we made time together and dated etc. When we went to counselling she complained about my hobby to the counsellor "he spends early morning on his hobby" to which the counsellor replied "have you got a passion"? ... "No".