FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Bipolar

ConcernedDad
Community Member
Hello, I’m new to all this, just jumped on to try to get some understanding of what my daughter is going through, she was diagnosed with bipolar disorder and has been in hospital now for 5 weeks. Her mood and thoughts are way out there and it hurts me seeing her going through all this.
15 Replies 15

Quercus
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Concerned Dad and a belated welcome to the forums.

I'm sorry you have had to wait for a reply. Sometimes posts slip though and are missed but that doesn't mean we don't care.

Firstly your daughter is lucky to have a Dad who is willing to reach out to find out how to support her. Good on you.

Unlike depression and anxiety bipolar doesn't have it's own category on the forums (maybe one day). But this thread is frequented by many members who manage bipolar...

www.beyondblue.org.au/get-support/online-forums/staying-well/this-bipolar-life

It is a long thread but please feel free to jump in and ask questions, the regular posters there are lovely. Maybe reading may help you get a feel for what your daughter is going through. You can also ask others if they would feel able to check out your thread.

I hope that you are able to find some practical ways to help your daughter. But in my mind what you are already doing is awesome.

Nat

quirkywords
Community Champion
Community Champion

Concerned Dad,

Hello. I replied to you in another thread and suggest you start your own thread but I didn’t realise You already had.

I was diagnosed with bipolar when I was 16 and it was called manic depression

Has the doctor explained to you what is happening? It can be very confusing and sad to watch your daughter going through these changes.