FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Advice needed!

Aloof1912
Community Member
Hello everyone! Thank you for your time reading this. Thought I'd reach out to you all as this is my first time really and could do with some help/assistance regarding my partner of almost 2 years next week.
Out of the blue, on Tuesday last week, my partner took a turn from being happy to depressed unexpectedly. This has left me feeling lost and clueless as to "what changed?" Anyway, she has been riding this wave for over a week now and it is starting to take a toll on me where I feel useless and emotional as all I want to do is be there for her. She seems to still cuddle me at night and I hold her, but when it is outside of this, she is struggling. I know recently, her parents' had COVID and thought she was struggling with that, but since they are free from it, she hasn't really bounced back. When I have tried ask, "what is wrong?" she says "work is stressing me". I really do not know what it is and want to get to the bottom of it as all I want to do now is cry. I said I wouldn't leave her after her saying, "please don't leave me" last Friday, I am feeling sad that I want to be there for her as well as to get over this darkness as I miss her old self. I have tried writing her notes, give her little things like chocolate, but feels now, it's a dead-end. Any advice or wisdom, would be greatly appreciated!
3 Replies 3

Sea_Turtle
Community Member

Hi Aloof1912

to start with it sounds like you are doing an amazing job trying to support your partner.

All those little things do mean something they let you know that someone is thinking of you. I remember my mum doing things like that when things started to get worse for me, she would buy my fav foods and put notes in my lunch box ect.