FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

What to do if your parents display family violence

successisajourney
Community Member

Hi,

I am studying Year 11 in VIC. I am an Australian citizen and have moved to a lot of countries since I was born. I have had a pretty rough and rocky childhood, which includes sexual abuse and family violence. 

Being a girl from an Indian Background who completely had to believe and obey my parents' orders every second of my life I moved to AUS in 2021. 

I have a previous history of self-harm, suicidal thoughts, attempting suicide, mental health diagnosis (BPD - Boderline Personality Disorder), physical health problem such as right ankle tibia fracture due to sucide attempt, skin graft because of potential risks of developing cancer on the surged area (right leg - metal plates and screws placed on 01 Sep 2021), a major accident - 2 days extreme verge of homelessness due to my mother's ruthless actions towards me (i fell down the same day at school - fainted and experienced seizures in which I had hitv my head, leg and arm multiple times which might have resulted the metal plates in my right ankle to twist making it difficult for me to walk now, my head is in a bad state - by which I mean that it is constantly stinging and aching, my left wrist is undergoing horrible pain at the moment as well. 

The most important thing I wanted to convey is that my concern for my safety. I do not feel safe at home as I am scared that I might involve myself in sucide attempts due to too much accumulation of stress. 

I do not access to mobile which makes it harder for me to get support... 

Please advice me what to do now as I have a stable Internent Connecttion and a smart device. 

I convey my deepest gratitude to everyone reading this and have replied to my post.