FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Psychosis stole my art skills and my will to live.

Retronoodles
Community Member

I had devastating manic psychosis June 2020. After coming out of the ward I noticed my art skills alone were absolutely destroyed. I need to say that I was a professional artist before my accident. I did animation work for Dreamworks and Netflix shows and went to a prestigious internship and school prior, but my whole life I had gotten this far by working hard.

Now however, I can barely do a sketch and the sketches always came out wrong. I am losing my ability to communicate this because I'm so upset. This is NOT creative deficit (aka. laziness) like many bipolar people say they have post mania. This is genuinely some cognitive issue keeping me from doing the fine decision making that it takes to be ME-level good at art. I can't attach an image of how I used to draw, it wont let me.

I kept hoping these last two years that I'd see improvements. Sometimes I saw glimpses or so I thought, but they always end up as mediocre, broken and lumpy drawings. But art is subjective right? Other people in my life have told me my art looks fine. They have told me to be more 'well rounded'.

Yeah tear off a butterflies wings and tell it to go do something else.

It was my favorite thing and opened up the world. I'd draw at cafes, draw on trains and trams, doodle in class and create massive elaborate pieces late into the night when I was at home. I wont discard how art has shaped me my whole life. Art was breathing. Art was joy.