FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Feeling really down and struggling

Gray_13
Community Member

Hi guys,

I am new to Beyond Blue and to completely honest it has taken me a long time to build up the courage to reach out for advice and help. I am feeling very down and have been having suicidal thoughts over the last month. To give a bit of a background, I am a 28 year old male, I was diagnosed with depression as a teenager and spent a few years on anti-depressants which helped me out a lot. As I got older I got quite a bit better but that has all changed recently.

I have found that as a male it is really hard to tell people how I am feeling. I feel very alone, and do not entirely trust my friends or the people around me. I feel like they are laughing at me or talking about me behind my back. I know this sounds a bit pathetic but it is how I am feeling and I really needed to get it off my chest. It is really hurting me feeling this way and every single day I start feeling even more down and worthless.

i really dont know where to go or who to turn to for help. As I am writing this I am nearly in tears. If anyone on here has ideas about how I can overcome these feelings I would really appreciate any advice.

Thanks,

Gray

12 Replies 12

SourceShield
Community Member

Hey Gray,

Mate, you are not alone.

I can feel the pain in your words.

Take a good look around beyondblue and youll find some really good resources here.

A bro and I, Matt - who is on BB here, have been having many chats about helping other blokes out, and we support each other every day now.

We'd like your imput with that as well - like a BroCode!.

We have one thread going entitled - OTT --- Old Thought Thoughts.

Check it out, its in the Staying Well section of these forums.

Its just some helpful hacks...to help us when we are having a 'moment'.