FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

The heart of the matter

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

As a young home mechanic I had a problem with my car years ago. It had a vibration at 80kph and was irritating. So on a weekend I swapped wheels, got them rebalanced, tightened the steering box, had one tyre replaced etc. The problem got worse. So eventually I took it to a good mechanic. "How many hours did you spend on this trying to find the problem?" he asked. "20 hours over two days I replied, why how long did you take"?..."2 minutes" he replied.

He'd put the car on a hoist and turned the tailshaft and found slop in a joint. $120 and I was on my way.

Another example of this. At around 13yo onwards I was over sensitive. Unlike other boys I'd cry at the drop of a hat. "You are just growing up Tony" said my wonderful father. So I waited to grow up emotionally and that didn't start to happen until medication for dysthymia and bipolar kicked in at 56yo!! During those painful 43 years there were attempts to find help like mentioning it to marriage counselor or therapists...but no one detected a serious illness was at the core of the problem..."you are just an emotional person"

Both examples are from incorrect diagnosis or no diagnosis. Both examples are not consulting the correct professional to seek out what was at the - "heart of the matter"

Such actions are skirting around an issue. In the case of the car repair, my other "remedies" caused other problems. The steering box that I tightened up should not have been touched, the replacement of the tyre was unnecessary as was the rebalance. All in all it cost me heaps of money and two weekend days I could have spent camping.