FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Living in the past and overthinking/worrying about life now and the future

DMA27
Community Member

I feel silly even stating this as an issue as i know people have far worse situations happening in their lives.

In 2014 my boyfriend of 4 years and i split (over a stupid unexpected argument), mid 2015 my grandmother who raised me & was the closest person to me passed away & i started my first full time job in the field of which i studied. Since all of this happened 4 yrs ago, I feel like i have not been myself. I thought i had life all worked out - planned to spend the rest of my life with that bf & i didnt expect to feel this way when my grandmother was gone. Since 2014, my ex and i have gone back & forth to each other because i think deep down there is still a strong love and bond although things just dont seem to work and I, as is he - am having difficulties letting this go. In the midst of the 4 yrs since we've split, we have both spoken to other people. The guy i have spoken to is the complete opposite of my ex - kind hearted, gentle mature, serious (amazing) however, has little time for a relationship due to work & other commitments. I feel too scared to to date him for fear of the unknown future, regret and whether its the right thing todo or not.