FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Bushfires

Yarraman
Community Member
It's hard for me to turn on the tv at the moment as I can't seem to cope with all the bad fires. And I was an auxiliary firefighter and am a rural firefighter. I suffer from depression. I can't understand why this is affecting me this way. As it normally wouldn't. Hope all stay safe.
5 Replies 5

Aaronsis
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Yarraman

Welcome to the forum, I am so pleased you have reached out at this really scary and horrific time for those effected by the fires directly and their loved ones. I can also hear how this is effecting you and I am so very sorry that you are feeling this way. I think as you are a firefighter you can empathise with what these amazing men and women are doing at the front of these fires and risking their lives to protect others lives and property. I don't think I have ever seen this much damage and the enormity of these fires is very overwhelming to me too, and I cant even begin to imagine how it would be for those fighting it, hour after hour..for days...you only know too well so maybe this particular one has impacted you more so.

I too hope that the people fighting are safe and they can return to their loved ones after all their amazing and brave work.

Thank you for your service and for playing your role in protecting our communities Yarraman. Big hugs to you at this very difficult time and I hope that you can come back to chat in this supportive and warm family we have here, welcome.

Hugs

AS

romantic_thi3f
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Yarraman,

Welcome to the forums and thank you for your post.

Honestly I'd be surprised if this stuff on TV didn't affect you; I'm not a firefighter and it even affects me - footage after footage of distressing images.