FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Advice for a poor financial situation + mental health issues.

nicko94
Community Member

Hi Everyone,

Pretty much my major depressive disorder, generalised anxiety and ADHD all underpin this situation I am in and this situation affects me daily.

I cant work because I work in construction and have no money...I haven't been shut down for 2 weeks but instead since the start of the latest lockdown in Melbourne (because we do renovations in peoples homes we cant go in) essentially haven't been working for months now. I also want to move out of home but I dont have any money saved up its impossible to save sometimes.

I have a new job offer at the end of this week, but its in construction as well - I just don't know if they are going to keep me on (it was a verbal agreement until this shutdown is over) its my anxiety playing up, plus my bad luck in the past. - do you think they would stick to their word?

Any ideas if i should stick it out a couple of days to see if i got this job, or give up in construction completely and go work in a different area for the next few years?

I am so tired of trying to grind it out and stick with it especially with coronavirus and not having any funds to back myself up with... whos experienced similar? I am trying to get ahead and save but in this industry its totally effed now I don't see an end to these ongoing lockdowns within construction.

thanks again.

3 Replies 3

Petal22
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi nicko94,

Wellcome to our forums.

Im sorry you are feeling this way, have you ever received help from a professional for your mental health?

Align