FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

A Big Decision To Make

Loco23
Community Member

I'm 26, been living at home with my mum and dad and older brother recently moved out. I've been going through a bit of a rough patch in the last four years since I graduated uni in that:

- Ex girlfriend (4 year relationship) broke up with me.

- Struggled to find any long term relationship. Still single.

- The career path that I've wanted since I was in primary school didn't work out. Resigned after 4 months.

- Currently working a boring office job with no progression.

- Lost 90% of my friends.

- Not sure what my next career path should be?

With my brother moving out, all my current friends living out of home with their fiancès/ girlfriends... It's really pushing me to just move to another state/ city and start fresh, find a new job and live on my own. But I'm not sure if I'm making another bad decision that might be a bit too rash. It just seems very appealing to just start a new life with a new job in a new city. Plus, I'm starting to feel a bit embaraased -26 year old man who still lives at home? It's what a friend of mine keeps pointing out anyway.

3 Replies 3

monkey_magic
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hi Loco23,

I often feel like you do and have made that move several times. The best advice I can give is to find something in your price range even if that means living with another person, just in case.

Once upon a time I ended up living in my car bcas i couldn't afford my rent-after work dried up.

You'ld want to preferably have some savings to back you just in case.

It can be a great adventure moving state with different scenery and other things to do and ppl to meet.