FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Preparing to take next steps.

Chickwithwick
Community Member
Hi everyone, this is my first post.

I am Chloe, inside I am a transgendered person. I have preferred to be a woman from a very early age but due to a variety of reasons I have been unable to express myself openly. The main reason is I never really accepted myself and thought of it as a defect. I'm over it now, I am happy who I am and my partner of 7 years who has known about this from the start is more than supportive.

The issue at hand is this:

I am a highly qualified Demolition expert focused almost entirely on industrial entities. As you can imagine surely it is a male dominated industry and quite hard to transition in. Not only that, it's dangerous and dirty. I am exposed to all sorts of horrible stuff, regularly getting burned and exposed to Asbestos, hydrocarbons etc. I do use proper PPE and am qualified to handle these substances. I am qualified nationally for high risk works and am regularly working from heights of 50 meters + I do love the work, I hate what it does to my body.

I would like to start a new career, but being 35 and having an income over 100k I have had to accept that I will earn far less. That's fine. I don't need a lot of money, it's just comfortable.

I have no idea of what I could go for in terms of work to support my lifestyle and choices.

Is there anyone here who has had to change career later in life to support their choices?
How did you do it? How hard was it to transition (work transition)?

Can anyone recommend some possible career paths to take this late in life?
4 Replies 4

PamelaR
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Chickwithwick and warm welcome to our forums