FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

My fear of coming out as a gay man.

Peterjb
Community Member
Hi, I'm 42 and have just started coming out as gay. Only a few know at this stage and it does not include my family or people I work with. I work in the construction industry in a blue collar trade which is not very friendly towards gay men, even in 2020. This is the only industry I know, and I love my job, however I fear what it could do to my career and my reputation. All I can envisage is my whole life falling apart once word gets out in my job. I want to become fully open but don't feel ready for the tidal wave that will hit me when I do. People in my industry still talk openly about homosexual people in very derogatory terms. I feel I can come out to my family and certain friends not associated with my work but I believe social media will invariably leak the news out to my work colleges. Thats my biggest fear.
3 Replies 3

CalmCat
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hi Peterjb's,

Congratulations on coming out and sharing your great news with us.

All I can say Peterjb is you have nothing to fear, there are laws in place to protect you and who you are. Be proud of yourself and love yourself, don't worry what your work mate say or do, its their problem if they have any issues with who you are.

Stay strong and good luck with your journey of life ahead!

Regards,

Doran

Emmen
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Dear Peterjb,

Congrats on coming out. It's great that you're finally (and slowly) able to be open about yourself and your identity.

I understand your fears and it really is a difficult position to be in. I wonder if it'll be easier on you if you give it more time. You've only just started coming out, and perhaps you need to give yourself more time to feel comfortable with people knowing this.