FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

asexuality

Guest_829
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member
Wondering if anyone out theres struggling with thoughts that they may be asexual, and would like to talk about any problems they are experiencing with it . I'm no expert and can only speak from personal experience, so if anyone is having a problem with their asexuality I'll be more than glad to help you, as best I can
8 Replies 8

Croix
Community Champion
Community Champion

Dear Mykel~

I wonder about the persistence of asexuality in some circumstances. While it may well be a permanent thing one is born with there may well be, as I would expect you know, other causes.

Unfortunately this state does not come with a handy label describing it's nature and it can be very hard to work out what is 'me' and what is a reaction to facets of one's life.

As I became worse with PTSD, anxiety and bouts of depression my interest in intimacy dropped to zero and remained that way for quite a long time. At the time I was not realy aware of my illness and as a result put it down to just me.

Not good for my relations with my partner, who at first thought she was to blame. However when diagnosed it became a little easier for her as she could see it was a symptom and no reflection on her, or my love for her.

Like you I can only talk from my experience. A desire for intimacy can be a fragile thing, and appear to be totally non-existent, which may in fact not be the case.

I have read your posts over the last 18 months or so and wonder what you think. I did read you endured a bad childhood and also had PTSD and troubles with anxiety.

May I ask how your studies are going?

Croix

Guest_829
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member