FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Young Marriage Ending

Alan2
Community Member

Hi,

My wife has told me this morning she can't go on with our current marriage. She has been upset with my lack of motivation and unwillingness to seek help for depression I suffer.

I'm a musician and suffer from a lot of anxiety and depression pre and post work, also we have planned to move overseas once she has finished her degree (she's a foreigner) and questions what I'll do when we go.

We seem to have one big argument every 6 months (married 3 years) and I think my inability to change from those arguments ultimately has put her in this position.

I cannot sleep, function or concentrate with this going on, she is staying at a friends because she thinks I will pressure her decision, I was so adamant that I will change. We regularly tell each other "I love you" but this seems an extreme and quick decision.

I take a lot of the blame for not at least getting help for myself but can't help think that this is a dash decision, or have I just been blind to the fact.

3 years doesn't seem long and considering I thought we were still in the honeymoon period this is extremely shattering.

I've booked in to see my GP regarding a mental health plan but if this all goes south as I fear, I can't see how I'll survive...

Thanks for listening, I'm really struggling.

2 Replies 2

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni