FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Wife for 11yrs wants to separate (feeling lost)

Nitro996
Community Member

Hello

I am not typically the person to share my internal issues with anyone (including my wife, maybe that's the problem)

typically I keep to myself and don't have many friends (and have been distant with the ones I have)

I'm a mechanic and I work away for a week or two at a time, when I came home about 2 months ago my wife (11yrs, meet in school and been together 16yrs) asked for space and was ready to leave, she felt she had no option

I offered to stay elsewhere to not disturb our boys (6 and 3)

after a night apart and a few nights sleeping in different beds I felt we were on the right path

we were seeing a counsellor, we went on a date, we were communicating more

5 days ago I came home from work to find my wife once again waiting for me ready to leave

we had a short very painful discussion where she explained how she is not sure she knows who she is anymore and doesn't know if she wants to be with me and needs time without me to find out

I didnt (and not sure if I do now) quite understand why or how me not being there is going to help, but I still very much love her and want to support her no matter what

so I offered to leave once again for our boys (as they are use to me not being home)

the next day I took the boys to school and childcare and discussed with my wife moving forward

she agreed to let me stay in the house and look after the boys till the end of the weekend and then I would have to find somewhere else to live for the foreseeable future (this was so painful to hear), a full on separation

the past few days have been really terrible, however eye opening

I feel I have been a terrible husband and father

my wife did so much for me and I so little in return