FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Why do I suddenly hate the thought of being around people?

belle1419
Community Member

I’m a year 12 student and throughout my entire schooling life, I’ve been a very social person, I’ve had many friends and I’ve always enjoyed the idea of talking to people and going out with friends, but this past year the thought of even talking to people in my class makes me so upset and angry. I get very emotionally even thinking that I have to talk to them and I don’t know why this has suddenly happened?

I do have a boyfriend and at the moment, he is the only person I like to talk to in my entire school. He will often bring up an idea of going out with friends on the weekend or after school or even just sitting around with others at lunch, which before I would be so happy to do and I would always say yes, but now I get so upset that I pretty much almost cry at the thought of it, and I don’t know why? I even get angry at the thought of having to be near my best friend..

i dont know what to do about this, I’m not sure if I’ve developed some sort of social anxiety or if I’ve just developed hatred for my friends..

If you have any tips, please share with me! I need guidance..

2 Replies 2

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Belle, a warm welcome to the forums.

From what you have told us it does seem as though it's something that is struggling you to the extent of not wanting to be around your friends, which could mean that you have social anxiety, which I can't diagnose you, it's just a suggestion, but a doctor can help you.

There are a few ideas for you to think about and I'll put them down not as a point form, because if I do this then the reply will be held back until the moderators check it, but in a sentence.