FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

WHEN THE PERSON CLOSEST TO YOU LEAVES YOU BECAUSE YOUR DEPRESSED

Maca74
Community Member

Hello everyone out there. I posted a few days ago and thank you for your comments and encouragement.

Well it finally happened my wife gave up on me. I have been suffering from Depression and Anxiety for over a year. You can read my story from a couple of days ago. I would consider myself at the remission of depression if there is such a thing. I just got a new job which I love. I finally got my head in a good place.

Then WHAM!!

I have had enough ! I don't love you any more ! You are selfish ! I want to have fun! Etc etc

So for all the people on this site in a similar situation or think you are heading that way. Here are my words of wisdom. Remember I am not a Doctor I am mearly stating what I know.

The best thing you can do for the person you love is to educate them. As I found out sometimes they won't do it them selves and end up just being angry and confused.

Tell the person in your life that it is not personal. It certainly wasn't with me. My issues had to do with a custody battle and work, but impacted the rest of my life. 

Communicate  with your wife/ husband or friends and let them help. If they truly care as most of them do they can help you get through your bad days.

Seek medical advice from your GP. Be open and honest about how you are feeling and don't be embarrassed it happens to more people than you realise.

The biggest mistake I have made in the past 12 months is to educate myself and not others. Kept my important emotions to myself or only shared with my psychologist .