FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

When life turns upside down

JoelD
Community Member

I'm 34, had been married 7 years, fell in love with another woman. Separated, sold my house, quit my job, travelled to the other side of the world to be with this woman - things didn't work out now I'm back home living with my parents with no job, no wife, no home, and no reason to live other than my 4yo daughter. What do I do? I used to work as a high level health professional and today I humiliated myself by handing in a resume at Coles...

6 Replies 6

Neil_1
Community Member

Hi Joel  

Can I ask what caused the humiliation?  Was it just due to the fact that you were resorting to trying to obtain a job at Coles?   If so, then I don’t think you should feel that way … there’s no shame in any job, I figure.  Just my 5 cents for what it’s worth.  

I’m guessing also that you up and left your job due to the fact that you headed off overseas to be with the other woman?   Is there no way that you can put forward your resume to as many health professional organisations as possible, with a really spruced up resume detailing out just how awesome you are in this field, etc etc.  

I hope in the current situation that you’re still able to see your daughter?  And that you’re not too far away from her?  

I’ve always thought that if things turned *** around for me, then I ‘might’ try my hand at working in the mines.  I dunno why, just something where you’d be away from a lot of the hustle and bustle (perhaps) and there’s potentially good money to be made as well.  I might be totally mistaken on these thoughts and perhaps this is not for you anyway, but again, just another 5 cents that I thought I’d throw into the mix.  

Ps:  I do feel for you having given up so much for something that in the end didn’t work out …