FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

What to expect during a relationship counselling session?

auschic
Community Member

My partner and I have decided to go to counselling together. It's my first time going so I'm unsure of what to expect, I feel a little nervous in case i forget to mention something.

Were going because we both want to work on our anger. When we fight it often escalates to the point where one or both of us reach the end of our tether and things get broken or things get physical. We both hate ourselves afterwards and wish it never happened.

Besides this our relationship is great, we dont cause harm to eachother intentionally its only when emotions are involved and it takes over our rational thinking so we need help dealing with this because it's obviously a massive problem that we cant fix ourselves.

I've tried to manage my anger myself and it never works. I feel so bad about it because I feel like I'll never get over this issue and that I'll never be able to control my emotions. I'm sure my partner feels the same way. Can a counselor really help??

2 Replies 2

PamelaR
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hi Auschic and welcome to BB forums

You've asked a very good question. I've never been to relationship counselling however I have seen psychologists for quite a number of years. Some have been extremely helpful in my recovery. So yes counselling does help!

Like anything you get your good, your okay, and your not so good. Hopefully the person you are seeing is good. Here's some of what to expect:

An experienced counsellor generally starts by asking questions to get you to think and to talk about the your problems.