FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

What should I do?

Kendra
Community Member
Hi there this is my first time on here and it’s great to see that this site exists and can help so many people- I’m needing advice on how to help my daughter she has in the last week just moved back interstate as she is studying and in her final year. Her boyfriend suffers anxiety and OCD which she has been helping him to deal with, however now that she has moved interstate again he Is desperate for help and messaging her saying that he is suicidal and copes better when she is here to help him. My daughter keeps asking us to bring her home to be there for her boyfriend but that would mean giving up her dreams. I keep telling her it is not up to her to save him but she should be telling his family so they can help him instead of her always taking the load. She is distressed and he has been sending her messages saying if she comes home he won’t kill himself- this is putting a lot on her and we are all telling her not to come back because she is not the answer but encourage him to tell his family who do not seem to know how bad he is. What should we be doing? I myself suffer anxiety and I’m finding it hard at the moment to know what to do?
8 Replies 8

Mr__Irrational
Community Member

He's clearly completely co-dependent on your daughter, suicidal threats in this instance are most likely a manipulation technique to get her to return to him.

Until he learns to deal with issues through therapy, and gains his own independence he will forever do this.

He would most likely do it to the next girlfriend or previous ones. I'm sure this isn't the first time he's threatened self harm when she hasn't complied with what he needs.

Ask her...