FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Toxic family

Shaytana
Community Member
Hi
Reading the posts i am not alone. Ive struggled with my MH although im a MH nurse and therapist. I fly into health to only meet my reality and scare anxiety sleepless nights come back. not knowing who i am, because i stopped engaging in life and disconnecting from emotion i run in bland neutral as i dont know how to trust me, my mother gaslighted me seporated off each family nember and scapegoated me. I was hit ridiculed set up to fail each day of my life, i left the UK and i dived into a pit of depression Finding female friends that matched my mother. Wolves in my head ripping at any self confidence, im exhausted.. but now ready to own my stuff. My mood swings my voice. My uniqueness and my anger. The only thing im scared of is meeting me again after throwing myself away. Wish me luck.
7 Replies 7

Guest909
Community Member

Hi Shaytana

Welcome to BB.

I'm not sure if I will be of much help. Apart from my ex's MH problems, I've had no direct experience with the internal demons, conflicts, that pervade your post.

What I do know is that children of abusive parent's (mother and/or father) have lifelong problems that can lie dormant until something triggers them. To my untrained mind, childhood mental abuse can be hard to deal with. Don't throw yourself away; there is hope if you are willing to recognise and work through the issues.

Please excuse a silly question, but are you getting some professional help to sort through your issues?

I hope others on this forum have something more constructive to offer.

Paul

Just adding to what I said above, you can get phone access to a BB counselor on 1300 22 4636 if you need it.