FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Toxic behaviours

Scarlett06
Community Member

Hi again,

This morning, me and my partner have been playing some card games, and he won so i was having a banter with him. He didn’t understand that I was bantering and said “are you going to be toxic?” trying to get me to stop while I was ahead. I wasn’t trying to hurt him, I was just saying things like “you little rat” and so forth; things my family would say to me if I were to win in a card game.

I got upset with myself because I’m not very good at dealing with hurting people. I have an overwhelming fear of being toxic or hurting the people I love.

I started to cry and freak out, I screamed and threw the cards everywhere. This, a toxic reaction.

I feel that sometimes I definitely do have things I could work on, like my attention seeking and some things I say before thinking.

How can I help myself become better?

I’m in a really rough patch right now and my partner has definitely seen the worst of me. He’s had to physically stop me from hurting myself, pick me up in the shower during dissociation, etc.

I don’t want to hurt him, it hurts me more than I can explain.

please help me.

1 Reply 1

Sophie_M
Hi Scarlett,

It sounds incredibly painful, we’re really sorry to hear what you’re going through. We’re really glad you had the strength and bravery to share this here though.

We’re reaching out to you privately to make sure you’re ok. If you'd prefer to call us directly we're on 1300 22 4636, or you can reach us online from 11am-12am AEDT.