FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Together to long?

CM91
Community Member

Hi I'm new to this but I am desperate.

My husband and I have been together 11 years and two years married. We got together when I was 15 and he was 21. We have a child and a baby on the way.

so from the very start my husband has mentally abused me but being a 15 year old I didn't know any better and thought that was how relationships are.

Fast forward 5 years in and being 19/20. I got friends that I opened up to and told me that this isn't right.

(he doesn't share money, the food he buys is his, I'm not aloud to watch chocolate because it makes me fat {if I do get chocolate he breaks a row off for me and puts the packet away} these were some of the 5 mark issues)

so I cheated and I didn't hide the fact I cheated deep down I wanted him to know. I tried to break up with him and he told me NO and that he loves me. So I continued on with the relationship.

I'm now 26 a stay at home mum with no friends because he doesn't like me having friends so he drives them away. I don't have any family that lives any closer then 5hrs, I have never paid a bill in my life as any money I get he takes and pays all the bills.

I don't get any money from centrelink and I don't work so my bank account is sitting on $10 and he doesn't give me any money. If I want makeup (I wear twice a year) or sanity products my mum buys them for me and posts them up.

I wanted to put my son in swimming lessons and he flat out said we have no money.

He is always buying tools and take away for himself.

he has never been romantic and has never written me a card. For mothers day this year I got him to buy a $15 Kmart blanket and thats all I got. My day went on as usual.