FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Stuck in the Past

Ash5133
Community Member

So this is my first time actually opening up about whats going on but i am really struggling being single at the moment. My past experiences haven't been great, i have been used, betrayed, and forced into things i don't want. i have spent years trying to forget and suppress but the same things / problems keep coming up. All of my friends are currently in happy relationships and its getting hard to even hang out with them. I haven't been dealing with it too well and i feel like i spend more and more time by myself. I also recently broke my ankle which has stopped me from getting out of the house, all i do now is sit in my own terrible thoughts feeling more lonely everyday.

I still want to be able to hang out with my friends but how can i do that when all i feel is jealously for their happy relationships?

9 Replies 9

Jacko777
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Welcome to the Beyond Blue forums Ash5133.

I am so glad you are talking about this and thinking about how you can recover from some of the bad experiences you have had. With support and work you will come to feel a lot better I reckon.

They way I think of it is this, I have no idea what other people are thinking, it's impossible. Many unhappy people appear happy so there is no way to judge where the realty is. So why would I waste my time comparing my self to someone else when I cannot judge their reality? In the end, the only person I should compare my self to is, my self! In other words, am I being the best I can be.