FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Struggling to make connections in Adelaide

JamesL
Community Member

Hi everyone. Newbie here.

Basically I am at a stage where I am really concerned about my mother. To cut a long story short, we moved to Adelaide a couple of years ago, and we have both found it extremely difficult to make meaningful connections-friendships with people here.

My mother is in her sixties, and she has tried many ways to meet new people and get closer to them, including the following:

- Going to meetups. But it seems that people there are not interested in pursuing anything outside the meet ups. My mother is looking for something more than just spending a day a month with other people.

- Inviting people over for lunches, but none of these people ever did the same or even called back, etc.

Even through volunteering it is hard to build a connection as people are mainly interested in doing the job and leaving.

The overall feeling is that there’s well established circles in Adelaide that are extremely hard to break into, and that there’s no openness to anything new. And even people are reluctant to introduce you to their circle of friends.

Your thoughts and advice about all this would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

7 Replies 7

jaz28
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi James,

I'm from Adelaide and I 100% agree. It is definitely hard to make friends here as it's so small and everyone knows everyone. I have HEAPS of aqquaintances, but only a couple of best friends. I am young too - 20.

Joining clubs at uni and making friends at work has seemed to help me. But also growing up here, I do know more people and have friends from school/childhood.