FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Spiraling due to loss of relationship

AliC_
Community Member
Two weeks ago my boyfriend of a 1 1/2 years broke up with me. We’ve been really close friends for nearly 8 years and so loosing him has been hard. He broke up with me due to both our ongoing mental health issues (I have anxiety, depression and stress disorders). He also will no longer speak to me and his family are the same. I lived with them for the last 8 months and began to feel part of their family. Plus I have other stress factors in my life- I’m a second year university student and a recent break down of my dad and step mother’s marriage so life really feels pretty bleak right now. Any ideas for getting through this heartbreak and this spiral. I am seeing a counsellor in the next fortnight.
30 Replies 30

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello AlicC, can we offer a warm welcome to the site, and feel so sorry that your relationship has broken up and whether or not it's been caused by your own mental disorders is not easy to say, simply because we don't know how your boyfriend is feeling about the situation, nor whether his family have an influence on his decision.

It's also very difficult to know why you have begun to feel left out, at the moment that's why you need to find out why all of this has suddenly happened, and by no means are you to blame.

Living with his family may be good so you can save so money, however, living under their rules and regulations isn't pleasant, especially if you don't accept what they ask from you, and if this has happened then it can cause you to be feeling this way.