FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Single and depressed

Rihanna_-_01
Community Member

Hi,

I'm a 26 year old female - I graduated this year and I'm doing well academically. Despite my achievements, I have been going through endless cycles of depression/anxiety as all my relationships seem to fail. I find I always attract the wrong type of men - the aggressive/possessive/jealous/narcissist type. I feel drained, upset and broken as though I will never end up in a relationship.

I have men compliment me on my looks etc. and I truly dislike it because everything just seems so shallow. I feel as though I just get used then tossed around. My problem is that I'm also very shy and polite. I just feel so hopeless and pathetic. I feel like a failure. All my friends seem to be getting through well - some married/engaged/pregnant/in long term relationships etc. I feel happy for them but I feel as though there is something wrong with me; especially when they question me 'how can you be so pretty and single'. Makes me feel worse.

At this time, I have my eye on a guy I've seen several times at the medical centre. But it stops there. I'm so shy/hopeless that I bet I would never be able to approach him.

1 Reply 1

quirkywords
Community Champion
Community Champion

Welcome to the forum,Rihanna.

This is a friendly place with kind and supportive people. Sorry it has taken a while to answer your post. This sometimes happens.

I am sure many people reading this will relate to what you say.

Relationships can be tricky at the best of time, but with you going through endless cycles of depression/anxiety as your relationships don't work out.

I can see you are frustrated by not finding the right type of person you would like in a relationship.