FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Seperation, depression, anxiety and alcohol abuse

tassietassie
Community Member

Greetings to all. I permanently separated from my 28 year long relationship in January. I have noticed my alcohol intake has increased to 17 units a day. I have been drinking at this level for six months. I do know I should not be doing this I do not know if I am dependent or an alcoholic. I take anti-depressants and other medications for depression and anxiety. I do not work and have socially isolated myself among many other issues.

I would welcome any thoughts/ideas to get out of "place" I find myself.

Thanks

4 Replies 4

PamelaR
Blue Voices Member
Blue Voices Member

Hello TassieTassie and welcome to Beyond Blue forums

It's good you've found your way to our community of caring, friendly, supportive and non judgmental people.

Separating after 28 years in a relationship must be difficult. Not working and being social isolated makes it hard I'd imagine to talk through all the things that must be going on for you. Do you mind if I ask, who you could reach out to talk to? For example, a close family member or trusted friend? Talking helps at times like this.

Increasing alcohol intake to manage one's emotions and feelings is not unusual. Though, the mixture of antidepressants and alcohol isn't good I think. I suggest you see your gp if you haven't already to talk about what's happening in your life.

From my own experience, I've used alcohol to dull the pain of emotions and feelings. Ultimately, I found it doesn't work. The hangovers are the pits, and the emotions and feelings are still there - they don't go away.

Are you serious about wanting to move from the 'place' you are? Then think about: