FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Separated, addiction and lost

Countrygal85
Community Member

Hi to all, this is the first time writing this so please be gentle on me

2.5 years ago my fiance separated from me and after that I have not coped so well. 7 years and 2 kids he just didn't wanttodoitanymore

I was a nurse who loved her job and it was my passion, I have lost that.

Since the separation I have learnt to cope with alcohol and marijjana (which my x introduced me to). I have been to rehab and detox but has not seemed to help. My past has come up a lot and the pain of sexually abuse as a child, and I don't know how to cope with the pain. I have no family support friendships here. My x has basically had the children for the laSt 2 years and I hate it.

I want to be the confident, successful lady I once was, but I have hit rock bottom and don't know how to get out of it.

I feel all alone, and no one would even notice if I was not here one day.

Please help

8 Replies 8

Terry73
Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hello Countrygal,

Welcome to Beyond Blue forums, and we will always be gentle to you here, if new or an old hat at this.

I am much going through the same situation you are in, with a few differences but the basics are still the same.

From personal experience, this is a great place to start working through the problems that life throws at us. I have learned how I can proceed in life, to get myself back on track and to get motivated in doing so.

Your situation does seem a lot like my own so I understand how you feel and the things we go through, sadly for me it has taken me 8 years to seek this help, so you are already doing things I should have done many years ago.