FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Selfish people

Koor
Community Member

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this platform. I am in my mid thirties; completed my PhD last year. The reason I mention this is to suggest my cognitive abilities are alright. And I am in the stage of life where I can perceive, churn and understand. 

I am loving, understanding and giving. However, most people (friends, cousins, in-laws) around me are selfish,  vocal about their own needs, demanding and not at all in the frame of mind to listen to my point of view or accept I can be offended. This is ok because I have come to understand this is how people are. 

The problem is I take it to my heart, get hurt, feel the pain, sulk and cry. I get migraines and depression. I am unable to understand why people behave in certain ways. I am unable to forgive them and move on. I hold onto it tight. I feel the urge to tackle such people and tell them their ways are unacceptable. However, no one accepts and my urge and the associated depression grows. 

I feel let down, insulted and sick - mentally and physically. Why are people so undeserving and why do I hold it close to my heart? My partner and my dad have immensely helped me to get out of this overwhelming cyclone of thoughts. But apparently they have now given up. I am disturbing them without improving. 

I am sure no one cares. Why do I at the cost of my health? I need help. I want to be normal.

Please help.

Much appreciated

3 Replies 3

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi Koor, welcome here

There are a few articles I've written on this and similar topics. Google the following-

"Topic: Wit, the only answer to torment- beyondblue"

"Topic: forgiveness and forgetting- beyondblue"

"Topic: benefit of the doubt could save embarrassment- beyondblue"