FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Rollercoaster of depression Vs life

Natnicmac
Community Member
Newbie here. Having a bad week & found these forums. I have battled depression for 16 years... probably longer. I am in a rut this past few weeks, ya know when every moment is filled with dread. Getting dressed is only so i can go out to earn a wage to pay the never ending bills. My relationship is now suffering. I feel so much resentment toward my husband for doing nothing wrong. I have gained 15kg in 2 months trying to eat myself happy... i cannot stop! The result is shitty self esteem & no interest in intimacy at all. I know this makes my partner feel rejected but i can’t seem to pull myself out of the black hole. If i didnt have my kids I would act on my self sabotaging thoughts. I tried to explain to hubby but i feel like he must be sick of putting up with this shit from me after 15 years. I want to care about myself enough to stop the binge eating that i know is so self destructive. I am now starting to have anxiety attacks after 12 months without them. Who or what can help? Gp’s just up my antidepressants or send me toa counsellor who wonders why i am there because i know the tools to be better, i just can’t do them when i am this low?
2 Replies 2

sister_moon
Community Member

Hi Natnicmac,

Welcome to the forums

Sorry to hear you are feeling low. I don't really have any advice but just wanted to say hi and that you are not alone. I found this forum and reading other peoples stories on here helped me feel less alone in my struggles. I hope it does the same for you.

I too have often find myself feeling like I have "the tools" so "shouldn't" struggle.It is so much harder (sometimes impossible) to use those tools when feeling depressed.