FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Relationship anxiety and over thinking

Young_Jez
Community Member
Hey guys,

First of all I'm really new to this. I don't know really where or how to start. The issue I'm facing may seem silly to some but the current new relationship I'm in I feel like I'm constantly over thinking every possible scenario every possible outcome. To the extent where it's hard to sleep, hard to focus on my goals, hard to do anything as it's constantly at the forefront of my mind and can't seem to get it to budge. I'm usually a very positive person and always look on the bright side and focus on positives but I really can't with this one.

Does anyone have any tips that has helped them previously?

Thankyou
6 Replies 6

SammyB
Community Member

Hi Young Jez,

Welcome! There’s no right or wrong way to start so feel free to write about whatever comes to mind. It sounds like you are trying to predict any and every possible situation that may occur in your relationship... this must be very draining and exhausting. If anything, constantly overthinking shows how much you care about this new person in your life and seems like you are doing everything you can to make sure things go smoothly. Unfortunately, that’s not very realistic as there are many things in life that are beyond our control and at some point, we must accept that things may not go according to plan, and that’s ok.

What kind of thoughts seem to be getting stuck in your mind? Writing out your thoughts and feelings can be a good first step in understanding how they can be managed.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Sammy

Gigi1981
Community Member

Hi Young Jez,