FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Overwhelmed - realisation you're dating a narcissist.

Whiskey1982
Community Member

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this, had my first therapy session regarding my hopefully permanent break up from a long term relationship that has had devastating emotional consequences for me. As suggested by my psychologist I have done some research into NPD and I am feeling shocked, used and abused.  It hurts to know the facts but also helps to have some clarity on the confusion I have suffered in regards to this 6 year long on again off again relationship.

It has now been 2 weeks NC but on his terms and if history tells the story that won't last too much longer. I feel alone, and I know that when/if he contacts me I will find it hard to disconnect. 

12 Replies 12

white knight
Community Champion
Community Champion

Hi Whiskey, welcome

Its good to see you've got help from this very domineering situation.

Some of your reading could include "Walking on egg shells" by Dr Christine Lawson.

Like you I've had a (what I feel) is a narcissist person towering over me, my mother, and my sister and I remove her from our lives following decades of unpredictable and destructive behaviour. Like all erratic behaviours these people need help and if they got help they could avoid the result...often families divided forever. In your case you feel scared because you know what you want in your own mind but also know that in an eye blink you'd be manipulated to be with him again.

Splitting from such a person isn't easy. In my case a court order was required to prevent my second marriage from being ruined, such can be the determination of a scorned narcissist. And it doesnt take much for them to put the boots in.