FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Overweight Partner

Glass567
Community Member
As the title suggests my partner is very overweight and dealing with serious depression. I’m struggling to stay with him because most days he won’t leave the house or even move from his chair in the lounge room. I want to be able to experience life and not just be at home all the time and the only person I want that with is him. We’ve been together for over 10 years and his weight is just getting worse and I don’t know what to do. His family and I have tried to encourage him to go to the gym but he can’t stand sweating from exercise and because he won’t exercise he has trouble being on his feet for more than a few minutes. I feel so guilty talking about it but I have no one I can talk to about it without feeling worse. I’m very new to this so thank you for listening if you got this far 👍
2 Replies 2

Hang10
Community Member

Hi Glass567,

Welcome,

You husband to me sounds like he got low self esteem, and with low self esteem comes low motivation. This would be sad to see how much you love him for him to waste away his life. Gym sounds too threatening. I would start small, like walk around the block. Even if it just a short walk. Got to get him slowly into a healthy routine.

Beening at home all the time to me sounds like he don’t want to face the world it could be weight appearance or it could be depression or mental health issue.

Have he tried a doctor or dieticians to help him with a project to better his life.

He be not happy with his life, but be scared or don’t know where to start or maintain a healthy start. The answer be their keep gently encouraging him. If the worst maybe you might have to do active lifestyle activities without him till he see what he missing out on.

All the best.

Hang10.

GoodWitch
Community Member