FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Not too sure how much more my self esteem can take?

Ell87
Community Member

hi everyone I am new to this and I just don't know what to do anymore with my partner as our relationship seems to be slipping away quickly.... Here's my story....

we we have been together about 3.5 years... He has had issues with substance abuse (drugs, pills etc), alcohol and because of this experiences extreme lows after a big night.... Lately he has been getting help from a psychologist which was his decision and I am proud of him however he has taken steps back and as soon as he sees his mates he can't control himself, has a huge night and then doesn't move from the couch for a week and I am left to do everything and cop the verbal abuse.... Let me mention the smallest things I do trigger him off eg I took MY glass of wine off him as I was drinking it... This resulted in me basically being kicked out for a week...I've been told so many times of late he hates me, I'm a disgusting fat pig and it's unfortunate I am me.... This is only the night of the drinking etc and the day after if I try and do anything for him or ask if he is ok....

I don't know how much more of it my self esteem can take before I break. I know he is depressed and I love him so much I want to help him through this but how do I make him understand this isn't ok the way he is treating me? He has all the traits of a narcissist and always seems to think I am the cause of all this hatred because I'm lame and don't do drugs or get blind drunk.... I never get an apology for his actions. He has always thought the world owes him.... Lately even just drinking seems to trigger a depressive episode...