FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Newbie, started this account when mental health was decling

aza_aaaa
Community Member
Hey I'm Aza (nickname not real name) and I'm a high school student who is struggling with my mental health right now. There are multiple reasons why but the most impacting reason is... well let me explain. Both my mum and I are very sensitive. When I accidentally do something to upset her, I feel like I've failed... something. Don't get me wrong, I love my mum, she's an amazing person. But she gets over-the-top when she gets mad, so I get extremely upset and start thinking thoughts like, 'Why was I born?', 'My mum would have a better life without me.' and 'If I was gone, they will move on, right?' I know I should book a therapist, but talking to my mum about this situation could go wrong and end up with both of us sobbing. The fact is, I don't want to displease my mum. She doesn't punish me or anything, but I just feel overwhelming guilt.
3 Replies 3

Sophie_M
Hey Aza,

Welcome to the Beyond Blue forums, 

We're sorry to hear you're struggling. We can hear that the relationship between yourself and your mum is tense at the moment and you feel unable to communicate your feelings to her. Speaking to a therapist sounds like a really useful idea. There are a number of ways you could do this, one way could be to speak to a Kids Helpline counsellor. 

Kids Helpline counsellors can be contacted 24/7 via telephone and also via webchat if you go through the website provided: https://kidshelpline.com.au/ . They'd be able to offer their advice on how you might go about seeing a therapist in a more ongoing way or how you might approach your mum with these thoughts and feelings.