FAQ

Find answers to some of the more frequently asked questions on the Forums.

Forums guidelines

Our guidelines keep the Forums a safe place for people to share and learn information.

Newbie, burnt out single Mum in need of suggestions and ideas.

Lexie34
Community Member

Hi,

Im a newbie. Ive always a strong determined independent person. Life hasn’t been easy but I always managed to get through it and come out on top. I have a good secure job, am a single Mum to a 14 yo with special needs.

Now I find myself in this situation ... burnt out, stressed, anxious and depressed. I’m on anti depressants, after taking 4 weeks off work, have returned on modified duties. I’m angry, frustrated and disappointed that I am in this position.

My sons needs intensified over the last 18 months. It has been so stressful juggling his needs with full time work. Work in itself has been stressful. Added to that ... navigating the NDIS!!!

My life has consisted of caring for my son and work. His father is not in the picture.

I haven’t looked after me unfortunately and now I’m suffering. I need help. I have constant feelings of overwhelm. I’m exhausted.

My doc has increased my meds this week so I know it will take time and potentially feel worse before I feel better

I moved to a new town 2 years ago to make s fresh start with my son I haven’t been able to make any friends I’ve tried to seek out opportunities to meet other mums but haven’t ‘clicked’ now I feel so exhausted I don’t have any energy or motivation to keep trying

I’m looking for ideas/suggestions that will help I need to keep working full time so can’t cut down hours

are there any support groups in Ballarat area that anyone knows of?

thanjs for listening and allowing me to vent.

Lexie34 😊

3 Replies 3

geoff
Champion Alumni
Champion Alumni

Hello Lexia, and can I give you a warm welcome to the site.